Capitol Corridor
University of California
Capitol Corridor

Agriculture and Horticulture Programs

UCCE Capitol Corridor Programs

Chuck
Environmental Horticulture, Pears, Cherries, and Viticulture

Chuck Ingels
Email: caingels@ucanr.edu
Phone: 916-875-6527

 

Katherine
Fruit & Nut Crops
Up-to-date information and research regarding fruit and nut crops (excluding grapes).

Katherine Pope
Email: kspope@ucanr.edu
Phone: 530-377-9528

 

Morgan
Livestock & Natural Resources
Providing professional research and advice to support range livestock producers and rangeland managers.

Morgan Doran
Email: mpdoran@ucanr.edu
Phone: 530-666-8738


Rachael
Pest Management
The program covers Water Quality, Integrated Pest Management, Forage Crops (alfalfa, sudangrass, oat hay) and Dry Beans.

Rachael Long
Email: rflong@ucanr.edu
Phone: 530-666-8734


Margaret
Small and Organic Farms
New program focused on growers, often with diverse crops, and selling direct to consumers through roadside stands, farmers markets, CSAs, and restaurants.  Supports both conventional and organic production systems. 

Margaret Lloyd
Email: mglloyd@ucanr.edu
Phone: 530-666-8146


Karey
Urban Integrated Pest Management
Specific pest information on various home, garden, turf, and landscape pests as outlined on the UC Statewide IPM Program website.

Karey Windbiel-Rojas
Email: kwindbiel@ucanr.edu
Phone: 530-750-1241


Gene
Vegetable Crops
Information for vegetable growers in Yolo, Solano and Sacramento counties with an emphasis on Processing Tomato Production.

Gene Miyao
Email: emmiyao@ucanr.edu
Phone: 530-666-8732


Cross-County Programs

Michelle
Delta Crops
Serving San Joaquin, Sacramento, Solano, Yolo, and Contra Costa counties
Information on crops grown specifically around the Delta including alfalfa and forage, corn and small grains, and rice.  Additional information on soil and water quality and weed science.


Michelle Leinfelder-Miles
Email: mmleinfeldermiles@ucanr.edu
Phone: 209-953-6100


Luis
Rice
Serving Colusa, Glenn, and Yolo counties
The program's objectives are to develop and implement educational and applied research programs appropriate for the rice industries in Colusa, Glenn and Yolo Counties, and to collect and disseminate relevant and current information that will improve rice production and maximize net farm income, while conserving natural resources and safeguarding the environment.
Luis Espino
Email: laespino@ucanr.edu
Phone: 530-458-0578


Whitney
Rice
Serving Sutter, Yuba, Placer, and Sacramento counties
Future outreach ideas include a rice-specific workshop on weed management and identification and some videos on weed identification and seed collection. With the other farm advisors, I will be involved in research on the emerging weed issues, including red rice and winged primrose willow. Currently, I am involved in research focusing on identifying and managing herbicide resistance, since that is a concern for many rice growers. Over the next 1 to 2 years, this will include surveying and screening for resistant populations in growers' fields.

Whitney Brim-DeForest
Email: wbrimdeforest@ucanr.edu
Phone: 530-822-7515

Webmaster Email: kmchurchill@ucanr.edu